Evolution – unified inbox

This is a little bit of a OMG! moment for at least one person that will shit themselves that not only have I written an entry for WordPress , but two in one day ( gotta be the world is ending.. )

As noted before my recent past involved searching for the ideal Email client  and after trying Thunderbird ( great but potentially EOL and was becoming unstable for me ) , I tried (among other solutions) Sylpheed, Claws, Geary, Seamonkey,  the best alternative I found was Mailpile – which was fantastic , however it suffers from “Beta testing syndrome” – it will be ideal once its worked its kinks out , but for now its not for me.

I settled on Evolution as it has a good combination of  functionality and if you have “gnome-control-center” installed , uses Oauth for google accounts, and serves as a client for the google calendars also ( this for me was the selling point).

After setting up my 5 email accounts and messing about with the configuration , I realised it was lacking one vital function for anyone with multiple accounts , a unified inbox , or so I thought..

To configure a unified inbox you have to set up a search folder ( a virtual folder to see various mails within your email accounts that is filtered by rules). a search folder could be set up to see all the emails sent by a particular person over a specific period of time , or all emails that contain a phrase , I think (hope) you get the idea.

To set up a Search folder you need to navigate (within Evolution) to  Edit > Search folders which brings up a box like this ( I already have configured a unified inbox – yours will most likely be blank)

183844_11_10_2016

To set up a new search folder click “Add” which will present you with another box

184256_11_10_2016

It is then a matter to complete a Name for your search folder and use the rules set to narrow down the criteria of what you wish to look at.

I could make you guess what the rules for a unified inbox are , however as I am feeling nice, here you are

181102_11_10_2016

and there you go all sorted .

If you are wondering where your search folder is  in the GUI of Evolution you can arrange its location in Edit > Preferences > Mail Accounts by dragging and dropping it to the top

Hoping this helps someone, somewhere at sometime.

Jase

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evolution – unified inbox

2 thoughts on “Evolution – unified inbox

Leave a Reply

